I thought Quickes Farmhouse Cheddar would be a slam-dunk. I love cheddar, I love raw-milk cheeses, I love aged cheeses. But I didn’t love this raw-milk, aged cheddar.

A disappointing cheddar

A disappointing cheddar

The Quicke family has been farming in southwest England for more than 450 years, and the dairy has been in operation for 25. Its cheeses and butters have brought in accolades from all over the world. So I was surprised to find my slice of Farmhouse Cheddar to be bland and chalky. No cheddary tang, no pleasing mouthfeel. After tasting the cheese on its own, my husband and I sliced it for grilled-cheese sandwiches, but it didn’t improve by melting. I’m hoping that it’s just that I got an abnormally bad piece (if so, Surdyk’s, I expect more from you!) and Quickes Farmhouse Cheddar isn’t a lost cause.

Don’t let my experience turn you away – give it a try yourself! Serve the cheese with a big glass of red wine and some crackers. And be sure to let us know how it tasted.

